Skip Navigation

National Boating Safety Advisory Committee appoints new members

The U.S. Coast Guard has announced the appointment of twenty individuals to serve as members of the National Boating Safety Advisory Committee (NBSAC).

The NBSAC was established on December 4, 2018, by § 601 of the Frank LoBiondo Coast Guard Authorization Act of 2018, Pub. L. No. 115-282, 132 Stat. 4192 and amended by § 8331 of the Elijah E. Cummings Coast Guard Authorization Act of 2020, Pub. L. No. 116-283.  That authority is codified in 46 U.S.C. § 15105. 

The NBSAC members are selected from disciplines within the following fields of expertise: State Boating Safety Programs, Recreational Vessel and Associated Equipment Manufacturers; and National Recreational Boating Organizations and the General Public. The new NBSAC members serve three-year terms on the Committee and provide advice and recommendations on matters relating to recreational boating safety to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security through the Coast Guard Commandant and the Assistant Commandant for Prevention Policy.

Membership is divided evenly among three membership categories in NBSAC:

1.         Seven representatives of State officials responsible for State boating safety programs
2.         Seven representatives of recreational vessel and associated equipment manufacturers
3.         Seven representatives of national recreational boating organizations and from the general public, and of the seven, at least five shall be representatives of national recreational boating organizations

Each member holds office for a term up to three years.

For more information about NBSAC, visit 

The new members are:



Organizational Affiliation

State Officials Responsible for State Boating Safety Programs

Lt. Mark A. Brown

State of Oklahoma

Capt. Timothy C. Dunleavy

State of New Hampshire

Mr. Christopher Fallon

State of New York

Mr. Thomas E. Guess

Commonwealth of Virginia

Asst. Commander Cody Jones

State of Texas

Conservation Officer Specialist Joseph Keeton

State of South Dakota

Capt. Gary Klein

State of Florida

Recreational Vessel And Associated Equipment Manufacturers

Mr. Peter A. Chisholm

Mercury Marine

Mr. Ralph E. Hoskins

Regal Boats

Mr. David C. Marlow

Brunswick Corporation

Ms. Christina M. Paul, Esq.

K&L Gates, LLP

Dr. Wendy Sanders

Explico Engineering

Mr. David Slikkers

S2 Yachts

National Recreational Boating Organizations & General Public

Mr. John S. Adey IV

American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC)

Mr. Chris Edmonston

BOATUS Foundation for Boating Safety and Clean Water

Mr. John M. Johnson

National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA)

Ms. Caroline A. Mantel

Boat History Report

Ms. Peg B. Phillips

National Safe Boating Council (NSBC)

Dr. Robin Pope

American Canoe Association (ACA)

Ms. Wanda Kenton Smith

Kenton Smith Marketing